About Mechanism


The history of the Order dates back to 1757 in Lancashire England and for its first 100 years, it grew and established Grand Lodges in the northern region of England and the southern regions of Scotland.


The 19th and 20th century was the most dynamic of the Order as different Grand Jurisdictions were established. Our presence extended into South Africa, the Netherlands, British Guiana and a number of sovereign nations and dependent territories in the Caribbean. In 1910, the first branch of the Order was formed in the United States of America and today continues to operate under the Western Hemisphere banner.


Today, Mechanics meet throughout the world. We have Lodges and Chapters in Aruba, Belize, Canada, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Dutch West Indies, England, French Guiana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Jamaica, Netherlands, Panama, Scotland, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands and the United States of America.



We are a group of men and women who have voluntary formed themselves into a family; exemplifying the high ideals and expectations of a well-regulated, closely-knit organisation. 

We raise funds through voluntary contributions from our members as well as through various fundraising activities as we support individual members, local communities and charitable organisations. 

Many of our units have a special affiliation with specific charities and continually provide support through activities and contributions.



The District Grand Lodge No 1 of Barbados, Dominica and St Vincent, was established on the 27th January 1962 and operates as one of the Grand Jurisdictions under the Independent United Order of Mechanics, Friendly Society, North, Central and South America, Islands of the Seas and the Entire Western Hemisphere.

Headquartered in Barbados, the District comprises of four Mechanic Lodges (males) and one Chapter (females). Since its organisation, the District has continually worked towards the development of its members through the delivery of educational, historical, spiritual and philosophical discussions, which usually occur during our meetings.  

Past Grand Masters of the District

Past Grand Master, Gordon Brathwaithe

1962 - 1977

Past Grand Master, Lorenzo Lowe

1983 - 1987

Past Grand Master, Vincent Fergusson

1991 - 1993

Past Grand Master, Anderson Clarke

1999 - 2007

Past Grand Master, Rodney Mayers

1977 -  1983

Past Grand Master, Lloyd Wood

1987 - 1991

Past Grand Master, Charles Bayley

1993 - 1999

Past Grand Master, H Anthony Carter

2007 - 2011

Grand Master Emeritus, Anderson Shorey

2011 - 2015